top of page
Search
  • Shea Higgerson

Riding the creative struggle bus

It's been a while since I've blogged and that may be mostly out of frustration.


In my last blog I wrote about getting into videography and recording live shows for local bands. Due to computer issues, I've been unable to complete any videos since my first one. It's been taxing on my creativity. I wanted so badly to begin this journey, but until I can purchase a new laptop, it has to wait.


I've still been taking photos (and videos) regularly, however, and I have several new photo albums on my website. I've gotten to see some new bands, as well, and I love that I'm able to meet so many new people and discover so much new music through photography. It's truly one of my favorite things in my life.


I'm hoping to add a lot more portrait photography to my portfolio this year. I especially want to do some creepy/surreal/horror type photography, because I'm also a special fx makeup artist and huge fan of all things creepy. But I would love to do portraits of all types. In the past I've done senior portraits and a shoot for a Maxim cover girl hopeful.


My dream is turn this all into a full-time thing. It's a lot of work, some occasional disappointment, but I love photography so much. I still get blown away by what I can create.


Recently, I've been unable to obtain photo passes for the "big" shows, so I've been shooting a lot of locals. It's honestly just as fun, if not more fun in some cases. Oklahoma City and Tulsa (plus surrounding areas) have some amazing local bands and I encourage anyone, regardless of where you live, to attend local shows and support your local musicians. You could be missing out on something amazing. You could find your new favorite band.


Most recently I've gotten to photograph Sixth Gear and Basses Loaded and doing that really got me out of my creative slump. I was feeling kind of down about not being able to edit my video, which kind of made me uninterested in doing any kind of creative work. However, these two bands were incredibly fun to photograph and I love how the photos turned out so much.


I'm not giving up on my videography dreams, though. Once I have a new laptop and am able to practice video editing more, I hope to be able to offer video services to bands in OKC and Tulsa, so stay tuned...

Jedvard Dracul of Sixth Gear | January 2020

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page