top of page
Search
  • Shea Higgerson

Evolving.

In a recent post I wrote about how I'm always pushing myself to get better even if it means changing up the way I usually shoot or edit. And now I'm going to push myself even further by taking on a new skill — videography.


Thanks to a couple of my band friends (you know who you are) I'm going to have the opportunity to get a lot of practice in as I set out to master the art of concert videography. I've been wanting to do this almost since I started shooting concerts, but I put it off, mostly because I never felt ready.


I don't know how ready I am now, but I feel like it's time for something new, something bigger.


I started out in college as a journalism major and took a broadcast journalism class where I learned some video and editing techniques, so this isn't a total shot in the dark. But it's definitely going to be a huge challenge. I know it's what I need right now, though. While every new band shoot or new venue I shoot at is a challenge, I've been needing something a little different.


I've always found the concert recap videos I see on Instagram fascinating and video is an even better way to capture a band. A great photo captures the energy, but not the sound, not everything at once.


I've also been finding myself in what seems to be an ever-growing field of concert photographers. It's great because more bands will get coverage, more people are expressing themselves through their art, and I'm able to meet new people who share the same passion.


But it also makes it harder to stand out. When there are so many to choose from, what makes someone want to choose you?


I know I'm not the only person in this field who will decide to take on videos. There are already people doing it — many people record shows on their phone already. But that doesn't stop my need for creative growth.


Besides quality of work and being a cool human in general, I think people also like to choose someone who will take risks, who isn't afraid to try new and different things. I think people who are seeking art are seeking those who are willing and able to evolve in their art.

Pepper Keenan of Corrosion of Conformity | Cain's Ballroom Tulsa | October 5, 2019

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page